Grounded in rich academic tradition, our roots in southern New Jersey bring the comprehensive Rutgers experience to the Delaware Valley.

Founded in the 1920s, Rutgers University–Camden began as the South Jersey Law School and the College of South Jersey. In 1950, the two schools became the Camden campus when it merged with Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.

After decades of providing students with a comprehensive liberal arts curriculum through the Arts and Sciences, in 1981 Rutgers–Camden began to offer its first master’s degree programs, in biology, English, and business administration. In 1989, the growing demand for business offerings led to the founding of the School of Business–Camden, the first business school in southern New Jersey to earn prestigious accreditation from the AACSB International. Rutgers–Camden achieved another academic first in 2007: launching the first doctoral program on its campus—and the very first of its kind in the nation—with the PhD degree in childhood studies.

Today, Rutgers–Camden boasts two additional PhD degrees in integrative biology and public affairs. The business school offers a four-year undergraduate business curriculum along with MBA, professional master’s, and executive programs. Rutgers Law School, ranked highly and nationally, boasts a new and impressive facility complete with a state-of-the-art moot courtroom. In 2011, the School of Nursing became the newest academic unit at Rutgers–Camden, providing health care institutions throughout the region with high-caliber nursing professionals.

About Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers History
Chartered in 1766 as Queen’s College, Rutgers is the nation’s eighth oldest institution of higher learning in the country. Read more about our colonial roots and our rich academic past.

Points of Pride
We have many reasons to be proud! Find out more about the honors and rankings the university and our faculty have received.

University Mission
Rutgers is the only comprehensive public research university in the New Jersey’s system of higher education. Learn about our goals and who we are as a university.

University Facts and Figures
Did you know that 471,000 alumni live in all 50 states and on six continents? Everything else you need to know about all three of our campuses can be found here.

University President
Find information about the president, the Office of the President’s key goals, communications to the Rutgers community from the president, and the office’s contact information.

Campus Overview


  • Founded 1926 (as the South Jersey Law School)
  • Joined Rutgers: 1950
  • Campus size: 40 acres
  • Undergraduate majors: 36
  • Graduate programs: 29 (DPT, JD, MA, MBA, MBS, MFA, MPA, MPH, MS, MSW, PMAc, PMBA, PhD)
  • Athletics: 18 NCAA Division III women's and men's teams


  • Full-time faculty: 288
  • Faculty with terminal degrees: 98%
  • Total employees: 1,309


  • Average class size: 26
  • States represented among students: 29
  • Nations represented among students: 33
  • Residential students: 569
  • Graduates: 43,000