Rutgers–Camden professors make a difference every day for their students, the scholarly fields, and their communities.  The following awards are just a few examples of how Rutgers–Camden honors its professors for their achievements in teaching, research, and service.

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

Janice Beitz, nursing; Rakesh Sambharya, management; Carol Wallinger, law

Richard Epstein, English; John Lore, law; Benedetto Piccoli, mathematics

Ira Roseman, psychology; Allan Stein, law; Patricia Suplee, nursing

Holly Blackford, English; Christopher Fitter, English; Kimberly Mutcherson, law

Allan Espiritu, art; Kimberly Ferzan, law; Richard Michelfelder, finance

Charlotte Markey, psychology; Sarah Ricks, law; Robert Schindler, marketing

Ana Laguna, Spanish; Naomi Marmorstein, psychology; Maureen Morrin, marketing

William Tucker, psychology

Mary Bravo, psychology; Rajiv Gandhi, computer science; Ruth Anne Robbins, law

Luis Garcia, psychology; John Wall, religion; Lisa Zeidner, English

Sally Goldfarb, law; Tyler Hoffman, English

John Broussard, finance; M.A. Rafey Habib, English; Joseph Schiavo, music

Alex Roche, chemistry; Julie Ruth, marketing; Allen Woll, history

Stuart Charme, religion; Josephine Johansen, mathematics; Geoffrey Sill, English

Georgia Arbuckle-Keil, chemistry; Mary Greipp, nursing; Jon’a Meyer, criminal justice

Swaminathan Badrinath, management; Jay Feinman, law; Richard Harris, political science

Alok Baveja, management; Barbara Bickart, marketing; Timothy Martin, English

E. Roger Cowley, physics; Mamnoon Jamil, management; Gayle Porter, management

Robert Evans, biology; Carol Singley, English; Robert Wood, sociology

Marie Cornelia, English; Carol Kaufman-Scarborough, marketing; Alan Tarr, political science

Richard Hyland, law; Hsin-Yi Lee, biology; Briance Mascarenhas, management

Kimberly Adams, English; Wilbert Jerome, music; Samuel Rabinowitz, management

Lindback Teaching Award

Provided by the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation of Philadelphia, the award honors outstanding teachers at colleges and universities across southeastern Pennsylvania and southern New Jersey.

2014: Briance Mascarenhas, management
2013: Stuart Charme, religion
2012: Alok Baveja, management
2011: Luis Garcia, psychology
2010: Samuel Rabinowitz, management
2009: Julie Ruth, marketing
2008: J. William Whitlow, psychology
2005: Jay Feinman, law
2004: Robert Ryan, English
2003: Gayle Porter, management
2002: Carol Kaufman-Scarborough, marketing
2001: E. Roger Cowley, physics
2000: Mary Greipp, nursing
1999: Richard Hyland, law
1998: Marie Cornelia, English

University Honors

Warren I. Susman Award for Excellence in Teaching

This award is considered Rutgers’ highest honor for innovation in the classroom
2014: Rajiv Gandhi, computer science; Julie Ruth, marketing
2013: Carol Kaufman-Scarborough, marketing
2012: Alok Baveja, management
2011: Allan Espiritu, art
2008: E. Roger Cowley, physics
1988: J. William Whitlow, psychology

Daniel Gorenstein Award

Established in 1993, this award has become one of the top honors that Rutgers bestows upon its faculty in recognition of outstanding scholarly achievement and exceptional service to the University.  The award commemorates the life and legacy of Dr. Daniel Gorenstein, a noted mathematician on the Rutgers–New Brunswick Campus.
2011: Daniel Hart, psychology and childhood studies

Faculty Scholar-Teacher Award

This University-wide award celebrates faculty who forge effective connections between their research and teaching endeavors.
2013: M.A. Rafey Habib, English; Briance Mascarenhas, management
2011: Charlotte Markey, psychology

Ernest E. McMahon Class of 1930 Award

2013: Rakesh Sambharya, management; Executive Education, School of Business

Presidential Fellowship for Teaching Excellence

2013: Ellen Ledoux, English
2011: Lauren Grodstein, English; Jenny Kehl, political science

Board of Trustees Research Fellowship for Scholarly Excellence

2014: Nir Yakoby, biology; Mark Zaki, music
2011: Lauren Grodstein, English
2008: Imani Perry, law

Rutgers College Class of 1962 Presidential Public Service Award

2008: G. Alan Tarr, political science
1998: J. William Whitlow, psychology

Leaders in Faculty Diversity Award

2012: Laurie Bernstein, history

Rutgers Human Dignity Award

2014: Jonathan Muse, assistant dean, School of Business
2013: Rory “Cal” Maradonna, off-campus programs
2012: Wendell Pritchett (chancellor)
2008: Rutgers–Camden Center for the Arts

Alumni Teaching Award

This award was presented annually by the Rutgers University–Camden Alumni Association based on nominations from campus graduates. 

2008: Samuel Rabinowitz, management; Joseph Schiavo, music
2007: James Rushing, German
2006: G. Alan Tarr, political science
2005: William Lutz, English
2004: Christine Cosentino-Dougherty, German
2003: James Garnett, public policy
2002: Carol Singley, English
2001: Luis Garcia, psychology
2000: William Hoffman, art
1999: Carol Kaufman-Scarborough, marketing
1998: Sidney Katz, chemistry
1997: Robert Evans, biology
1996: Murl Barker, Russian
1995: Georgia Arbuckle-Keil, chemistry
1994: Leonard Bidwell, mathematics
1993: Charles Coleman, management
1992: Jay Sigler, public policy
1991: John Worrall, economics
1990: E. Roger Cowley, physics
1989: John Giannotti, art
1988: Henry Stempen, biology
1987: Betty Jones, English
1986: Charles Willitts, chemistry
1985: Marie Cornelia, English
1984: Louis Forman, history
1983: Wilbert Jerome, music
1982: Hsin-Yi Lee, biology
1981: William Bacha Jr., biology