Through the Civic Engagement Faculty Fellows program, the Office of Civic Engagement prepares Rutgers–Camden faculty members to design and implement high-quality Engaged Civic Learning (ECL) courses.

The core of the program is a one-day institute in which Fellows learn about the pedagogy of engagement and begin designing or redesigning courses. Two follow-up sessions are conducted in the spring semester to review syllabi and plan for implementation. 

Participation and eligibility

The program is open to faculty in all career tracks, including tenure track, academic professionals, outreach faculty, clinical faculty, and more. Participation is encouraged by all faculty members, from those with little or no prior experience in engaged civic learning to those with experience who may want to take a leadership role in advancing civic engagement initiatives on campus. Engaged Civic Learning course grants are also available.


For information about how to apply for the next Rutgers–Camden Faculty Fellows cohort, contact Dr. Nyeema Watson.

Faculty Support Services

The Office of Civic Engagement offers a number of services to support faculty in their efforts to engage communities through teaching, research, and service activities. Our staff assists faculty in the development, implementation, and assessment of engaged civic teaching and research and provides opportunities for recognition of these efforts through ECL course designation, conference participation and publication, and through the annual Chancellor’s Awards for Civic Engagement.

The Engaged Civic Learning Course Design Workbook, a resource developed by the Office of Civic Engagement for Faculty Fellows training, is available as part of the AAC&U’s Liberal Education and America’s Promise Campus Toolkit. Download a copy of the workbook.  

More Information

Nyeema Watson
Assistant Chancellor for Civic Engagement

Tyler Hoffman
Associate Provost for Academic Programs and Engaged Learning


Faculty Cohorts

Three cohorts of Rutgers–Camden faculty members have completed the Civic Engagement Faculty Fellows program. They now offer engaged civic learning courses across numerous disciplines in all of the schools at Rutgers–Camden.

2015 Cohort

Sarada Balagopalan (childhood studies)
Brandi Blessett (public policy)
Jennifer Boiler (social work)
Maureen Donaghy (public policy)
Wayne Glasker (history)
Michael Hayes (public policy)
Kathleen Jackson, (nursing)
Nicole Karapanagiotis (religion)
Mark Lamar (social work)
Cynthia Saltzman (sociology)
Zara Wilkinson (libraries)

2014 Cohort

Katherine Anderson (libraries)
Rashida Atkins (nursing)
Claudia Beckman (nursing)
Gail Caputo (criminal justice) 
Jill Capuzzo (journalism)
J.J. Cutuli (psychology)
Perry Dane (law)
Stephen Danley (public policy)
Oscar Holmes IV (management)
Angela Kelly (nursing)
Simeon Kotchoni (biology)
Patrice Mareschal (public policy)
William McLaughlin (law)
Karen Montalto (nursing)
Laura Napolitano (sociology)
Adam Okulicz-Kozaryn (public policy)
Robert Scoloveno (nursing)
Wanda Williams (nursing)

2013 Cohort

Cynthia Ayres (nursing)
Alisa Belanger (modern languages/French)
Mary Bravo (psychology)
Leslie Daniels (social work) 
Allan Espiritu (design)
M. A. Rafey Habib (English and religion)
Richard Harris (political science)
Jean-Louis Hippolyte (modern languages/French)
Shoko Kato (management)
Kwangwon Lee (biology)
Alison Nissen (law)
Susan Norris (nursing)
Jane Siegel (criminal justice)
Julie Still (libraries)
John Wall (childhood studies and philosophy)

2012 Inaugural Cohort

Robert Atkins (nursing and childhood studies)
Courtenay Cavanaugh (psychology and childhood studies)
Cynthia Clark (anthropology and childhood studies)
Vibiana Cvetkovic (libraries)
Elizabeth Demaray (fine arts)
William FitzGerald (English)
Ana Gomez Laguna (Spanish)
Tyler Hoffman (English)
Paul Jargowsky (political science and public policy)
Bonnie Jerome D’Emilia (nursing)
Ellen Ledoux (English)
Charlotte Markey (psychology and childhood studies)
Briance Mascarenhas (management)
Joan Mazelis (sociology)
Lorraine Minnite (political science and public policy)
Charlene Mires (history)
Gayle Porter (management)
Cyril Reade (fine arts)
Lauren Silver (childhood studies)
Carol Singley (English)
Jill Sinha (social work)
Robin Stevens (childhood studies)
Patricia Suplee (nursing)
Tetsuji Yamada (economics)

National Leader in Civic Engagement